Frequently Asked Questions


  1. Q. Is your program approved by the Michigan Department of State?
  2. A. Absolutely! Our Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC) has been approved for use statewide by the Michigan Department of State, and meets or exceeds the standards established by Michigan law. Only officially approved providers may report completions to the Michigan Department of State.

  3. Q. What's a comedy Basic Driver Improvement course?
  4. A. Educational experts will fuss a lot about using humor to "hold attention" and "facilitate information retention." But let's face it, you're really on our site because you want to have a GREAT time while you complete your Basic Driver Improvement Course. We'll keep you entertained, and the time will fly by as our hilarious Basic Driver Improvement Course has you laughing while you learn. We know that you could take any old traffic safety education course—but you want the one that you can "cruise" through, not one that "drives" you crazy!

  5. Q. How much does the course cost?
  6. The cost of our course is only 49.99! The best value in the state!

  7. Q. Why should I take a Basic Driver Improvement Course?
  8. The successful completion of a Basic Driver Improvement Course allows drivers to avoid points on their records and keeps the ticket information from being shared with insurance companies. A ticket of up to three points can be "masked" from your record. You might also be eligible for an automobile insurance discount, if your insurance provider offers this benefit.

  9. Q. Who is eligible to take a Basic Driver Improvement Course?
  10. The Michigan Department of State is required to send a notice of eligibility to drivers who may attend. Generally, drivers are eligible if:

    • they have a valid, non-commercial license and have two or fewer points on their record
    • the violation did not occur in a commercial vehicle
    • the violation was not a criminal offense
    • the ticket they received is eligible (Most "minor" traffic violations—those assessing three or fewer points—are eligible for the program.)

    There is no limit to your number of attempts to pass a Basic Driver Improvement Course within 60 days of your notice of eligibility. If you do not pass a course within 60 days of the notice of eligibility, the points and the violation will be put on your record and made available to insurance companies.

  11. Q. What if I didn't receive a notice of eligibility or if I lost that letter?
  12. If you are eligible and still within the 60-day eligibility period, you may still take the course. (If 60 days have passed, the ticket and the points will appear on your record.)

    In order for us to report a course completion to the Michigan Department of State, you will need to provide both your driver's license number and your "due date" (the last date you can complete the course). If you do not know this information, you may contact the Michigan Secretary of State to obtain it.

  13. Q. What if I miss the 60-day attendance deadline?
  14. Your violation and its points will appear on your record and be made available to insurance companies. However, the Michigan Department of State will send you a notice if you are eligible to attend a Basic Driver Improvement Course for subsequent tickets.

  15. Q. How often can I take a Basic Driver Improvement Course to avoid points on my record?
  16. There is no limit to the number of times you may attempt to pass a Basic Driver Improvement Course within 60 days of your notice of eligibility. If you do not pass the course within 60 days of your notice of eligibility, your violation and its points will appear on your record and be made available to insurance companies. However, the Michigan Department of State will send you a notice if you are eligible to attend a Basic Driver Improvement Course for subsequent tickets.

  17. Q. Should I take a Basic Driver Improvement Course if my ticket is for zero points?
  18. The Michigan Department of State mails a notice of eligibility to any ticketed driver who is eligible, including those with zero-point tickets. Drivers are never required to take a Basic Driver Improvement Course—it is always optional. Each driver must decide whether they will benefit from taking the course. Because insurance companies use a variety of factors to determine insurance rates, it is possible that a driver's insurance rates may be affected by a zero-point ticket. You may want to contact your insurance carrier to find out if a zero-point ticket would affect your rates.

  19. Q. Will I get an insurance discount for taking a Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course?
  20. Many insurance companies offer premium discounts to drivers who complete a Basic Driver Improvement Course. You may want to check with your insurance carrier before you register to make sure that they offer this benefit. If they do, your Certificate of Completion can be used to demonstrate that you successfully completed the course.

  21. Q. Is your Basic Driver Improvement Course difficult to complete?
  22. We promise you'll love the ease and simplicity of our Basic Driver Improvement Course. Our easy-to-read Internet course is entertaining, informative, and loaded with colorful graphics, videos, and cartoons. And we fill the course with hilarious traffic jokes to make the experience more enjoyable. We want you to laugh while you learn!

  23. Q. How long does it take to complete a Basic Driver Improvement Course?
  24. Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Courses are required to last at least 4 hours for Internet-based instruction and 6 hours for classroom-based programs. If you take the course online, however, you are free to take as long as you need. The computer tracks your completed chapters as you proceed through the course. If you log out and then sign back in, you'll be taken to our "Student Center" page. There you'll be able to continue with the course right where you left off, and you'll have access to completed chapters for review.

  25. Q. I'm already an Internet student. How do I get back into the online course?
  26. You may re-enter the online course, via the link on the home page of the site, as many times as necessary to complete the program. If you are having problems accessing the course, you may contact us.

  27. Q. Will I be tested on the material?
  28. All Michigan Basic Driver Improvement courses require students to pass a 50-question multiple-choice exam with 80% correct answers. If you should happen to fail the final exam, you may attempt it again as many times as like before your 60-day period of eligibility expires. But don't worry—it's not rocket science, and the Internet course even incorporates quizzes at the end of each chapter to help you review! So, sit back and relax. We'll have you back on the road in no time!

  29. Q. How does the Michigan Department of State know that I passed your course?
  30. We electronically report your completion directly to the Michigan Department of State.

  31. Q. Do you mail a Certificate of Completion to me?
  32. A Certificate of Completion is mailed to you on the business day following your completion. You have the option of ordering email, 2-Day, or Overnight delivery if you choose. The Certificate is for your records only; your completion is reported electronically to the Michigan Department of State. If you ever have a question about your Certificate, we're here to help!

  33. Q. How long after course completion until my driver's license record is updated?
  34. The Michigan Department of State should update your record within 5 business days. The Department will not notify you of the change to your record; you must purchase a copy of your driving record to verify the update. (A notation at the bottom of the driving record indicates that you passed the course, and your record will not show added points.)

    A driver's record is available for $7 (paid in advance via check, money order, or credit card) from the Record Lookup Unit through the Department of State website; these requests take up to two weeks to process. Or, by paying $8 and showing your license at a Department of State branch office, you could walk out with your driving record.

  35. Q. Does the course cost anything?
  36. Unfortunately, there is a small cost for Basic Driver Improvement Courses. Tuition covers all of the elements of a course, including immediate access to our website and the regular processing of your Certificate of Completion. Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course providers are privately operated businesses; whether you sit in a class or choose an online program, you will need to pay a similar fee. Our final course price is 49.99! And we have the friendliest service and support in the industry!

  37. Q. How do I pay for the Basic Driver Improvement Course?
  38. You can pay for the course by check or by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express). After you fill out the registration form, you are linked to a secure page where payment is quick and effortless. The payment process is encrypted, making your online purchase completely safe.

  39. Q. Is my personal information safe with you?
  40. Our Internet site and student information are stored and transmitted safely and securely, and none of your payment or personal information will ever be released to any third party (except to the courts or the State of Michigan, as requested, in compliance with the law). We do not give, sell, or provide your email address to anyone (unless court/State requested). As an approved traffic safety education provider and a company with a 35-year-old reputation for quality and integrity, it's our job to ensure your information is safe and protected. That's our promise to you and we guarantee it. And that's why over 2 million satisfied customers have completed our courses.

  41. Q. How do I register for your Basic Driver Improvement Course?
  42. It's fast and simple. To register for our online course, just complete all of the appropriate fields and you can get started right away!